Sunday Snippet #4

Sunday Snippets Banner

Hi Guys,

So its Sunday again and that means another Snippet from my WIP ‘The Eternal Flame’ is here for your enjoyment. For those who don’t know what it is it’s a snippet of 8-10 lines of any project (whether finished or in progress). This week my snippet comes from Anna’s perspective. We get to see Anna’s newest ability (fire elemental magic) in action. The snippet is from the fourth chapter of my WIP.

I can do this, I think, my mind trying to persuade itself that I am capable of doing this. I take another step forward and another. I can see the cocky grin on Matt’s face. He’s still swinging the sword around and all of a sudden whatever grief I had felt for setting him on fire the first time has completely vanished. He is no longer in pain, no longer screaming and howling from the agony of the burn and I no longer feel sorry for him. Because of that stupid, cocky grin I want to set him on fire again.

I can hear Matt taunting me, his voice sounds just as cocky as his grin looks but I try to block it out. I need to concentrate, I need to focus on that invisible well of magic within me and I need to connect to it because that is the only way that I can hope of defeating Matt. I close my hands into fists as I close my eyes. I try to find that well and as I focus I can feel it overflowing, freely giving me access to that abundance of magic. I feel it spreading out through my body, tingling every nerve, lighting every cell of my body on fire. I open my eyes and I instantly see that the grin that Matt had been sporting only seconds ago is gone. He’s staring at my hands and he seems slightly scared.

So there it is. I hope you enjoyed it. Leave a comment and let me know what you think about it and keep your eyes open for next weeks installment!

8 thoughts on “Sunday Snippet #4

  1. The descriptions are gret, but I don’t think I’d be “slightly” scared, if the narrator’s hands are doing what I think they’re doing!

    Matt sounds like a total tool who deserves some toasting. 😀

  2. Good snippet, great way to set the scene, Racquel. I would change ” He’s staring at my hands and he seems slightly scared.” to “He’s staring at my hands and fear drains all the color from his face.” It carries a stronger emotion to the reader. 🙂

  3. this is great snippet! I’m curious to see Anna’s fire magic on the outside, too, not just from her internal perspective. All I know from your description is that it’s powerful enough to make Matt feel slightly scared …

Leave a Reply

