Sunday Snippets #1

Sunday Snippets Banner

Hi Guys,

I’ve been invited to join in on a group where a group of authors post a snippet of 8-10 lines of any of their projects (whether finished or in progress). So for my first week I’ll be giving you a snippet from Chapter 1 of ‘The Eternal Flame’.

“Tell me what happened that night,” He demands. His voice is just as cold as his gaze. I can’t tell him what happened. It’ll break him. You don’t know that. He’s changed, I think and I can see in his eyes that it’s true.

“What do you mean Kayden?” I ask, desperately trying to avoid the question. He shakes me violently, I don’t know whether it’s in hope it’ll shake out my delusions of avoiding the question or to shake the answer out of me.

“Don’t play games with me. You know exactly what I’m talking about,” He says. He stops shaking me so that I have the chance to speak.

“I did it. I allowed it. I thought it was necessary and somewhere inside of me, in a part of myself that I resent, I wanted it,” I say. I know it won’t calm him, not when it angers me. He release me from his grip, almost as if touching me burns him. He does it so roughly though that it knocks me back a few steps. He turns his back to me as I try to get myself standing upright.

So there it is. I hope you enjoyed it. Leave a comment and let me know what you think about it and keep your eyes open for next weeks installment!

Racquel

18 thoughts on “Sunday Snippets #1

    • Thanks for the comment EE Giorgi! To put it lightly she was deeply intimate with the villain of the story. This is only a bit of the scene but hopefully it’s still clear that she is suffering from Kayden’s anger (Kayden is her lover in the series).

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Frank! To put it lightly she was deeply intimate with the villain of the story. This is only a bit of the scene but hopefully it’s still clear that she is suffering from Kayden’s anger (Kayden is her lover in the series).

  1. Good snippet, Racquel. You don’t have to tag every line of dialog, “he says”, “I say”. Instead use action to describe who’s speaking. Also when you have dialog, you don’t need to capitalize the speaker unless it’s a proper name. “Tell me what happened that night,” he demands. Lower case after a comma and closed quotes. 🙂

    • Thank you for the comment and reading! Anna was deeply intimate with the villain of the story. To be fair the villain is her husband (although her marriage was forced upon her). Kayden is her lover and so of course his feelings are understandable. His actions though aren’t which is where the true problem lies between them.

Leave a Reply

